कित्तानापी महाशाखा

Cadastral Survey Division is one of the four divisions of Survey Department under the Ministry of Land Reform & Management. This division deals primarily with the land property mapping, identifying land types as well as scientifically maintaining the land records for Land Information System uses. The maps and the records prepared by cadastral surveys are mainly to support land administration and to support the development of Land Information System. Cadastral survey therefore has become one of the most important activities of the Survey Department.

Based on the existing record, the history of cadastral survey goes back to the early 17th century in Nepal. Since then partial surveys of land have been conducted several times in the essential locations. A systematic cadastral survey (graphical survey with plane tabling technique using local control points) however was commenced in 1965 where special care was taken to map accurately along with the dimensions of land parcels. The basic objective of the early cadastral mapping was to assist in land revenue, to support the land reform and management program. Other objectives of mapping are to provide security of land titles to private and public land, to assist in policy formulation and implementation of land reform and management programmes, and to establish a central archive of cadastral information.

Cadastral mapping work of 75 districts of Nepal was completed throughout the country in the year of 2000. Out of which 38 districts were mapped without the National Coordinate System Network, while mapping works of the remaining 37 districts were completed using the National Geodetic Network after the establishment of Geodetic Survey Branch under Survey Department in 1973. A decision was taken to re-survey those districts where National Control System was not connected and also to prepare parcel plan in the urban areas. Previously established 9 Survey Goswara Offices have got responsibilities to carry out cadastral re-mapping works of some districts and they have been doing this mapping work until the beginning of the year 2009.

Due to the increase in population and great demand for land market, people are asking for updated and reliable land information. The relationship between man and land is becoming more significant and the people are more aware about their ownership right. The value of land as well has significantly increased over the time. Considering all these facts, the Cadastral Survey Branch under Survey Department has prepared a proposal for new innovative approach for cadastral mapping. This new approach is digital cadastral mapping. Since last few years Cadastral Survey Branch has been carrying out digital cadastral mapping as piloting project at Banepa Municipality of Kabhre district. Banepa Survey Office was then established in 2063/05/05 B.S. for the digital cadastral mapping in Banepa Municipality. There are 11 wards in this municipality and cadastral surveying of seven wards so far has been completed. The digital cadastral database of these wards has been prepared and the land registration of ward six is completed. Very soon the land ownership certificates of ward 6 will be distributed.

On 13th February, 2009, the Government of Nepal has dissolved all the Survey Goswara Offices and mapping works of these offices have been transferred to the corresponding district survey offices. In the meantime, survey offices are now categorized into five classes based on the responsibilities of their works. Survey offices under the category “Ka” and Kha” are entitled to carry out mapping works (previously undertaken by the Survey Goswara offices) as well have responsibilities of updating land records; while, the survey offices under the category “Ga”, “Gha” and “Nga” are limited to undertake updating exercises of the land records only. The flow charts of district survey offices have been modified and manpower of all the survey offices has been significantly strengthened as per their responsibility of works. The district survey offices with their categories are as follows:

Dillibazar, Parsa, Banke, Rupandhi, Kailali, Sarlahi, Jhapa, Kaski, Biratnager

Lalitpur, Bhaktapur, Chabahil, Kalanki, Sunsari, Saptari, Siraha, Dhanusa, Mahottari, Rautahat, Bara, Chitwan, Makawanpur, Nawalparasi, Kapilbastu, Dang, Bardiya, Kanchanpur

Kawashoti, Belbari, Lahan, Damak, Tikapur, Udayapur, Kabhre, Surkhet, Tanahun, Doti, Dhankuta, Syanga, Palpa, Ilam, Dhading, Nuwakot, Sindhupalchowk, Parbat

Baglung, Sindhuli, Gulmi, Arghakhanchi, Dailekh, Salyan, Pyuthan, Baitadi, Dadeldhura, Dolakha, Ramechhap, Gorkha, Lamjung

Myagdi, Bhojpur, Panchthar, Solukhumbu, Khotang, Okhaldhunga, Khandbari, Chainpur, Rukum, Rolpa, Taplejung, Terathum, Darchula, Bajhang, Rasuwa, Jajarkot, Achham, Mustang, Manang, Bajura, Jumla, Humla, Mugu, Dolpa, Kalikot


The Deputy Director General
Cadastral Survey Branch
P.O.Box: 9435
Min Bhawan, Kathmandu, Nepal
Tel: + 977 1 4622535, 4622502
Fax: + 977 1 4622601
Email: kitta@napi.wlink.com.np